undescribable feelings for undescribable news…


Background: Six months ago, I got hit by a car. No, not a ‘car accident’. I was a pedestrian who got actually hit by a car. It hit me head on, and some of my teeth were knocked-out and cracked. Everything got fixed except for one thing: my knee. My knees got hit before anything else did, therefore absorbing most of the shock of a 1500 pound car. No big. However, when I was rushed to the hospital, they only ran x-rays. They didn’t think about doing a MRI to see if I had any tissue damage.

Problem: My left knee has been giving me all kinds of ridiculous pains and problems. It gives out on me just about everyday. The pain I experience comes and goes. It’s a burning, stabbing pain that frustrates me. Anyways, because of this pain and major swelling, might I add; I decided to see a doctor about it. I just wanted to make sure that it wasn’t seriously injured or anything. Well, it is. First off, the doctor said that my bones were ‘crooked’, and she referred me to an orthopaedist. I went today, and he said that my bones look fine, but that I might have torn my ACL and MCL (and he kept saying, and maybe your meniscus, too. [It’s the cartiledge in your knee.]) He told me that they were going to set me up with an appointment to get a MRI done. After the MRI, I’m supposed to go back and they’ll analyze the MRI and see what needs to be done. Just today, though, he straight-up told me that the only way a ligament tear is fixable is by reconstructive surgery. He was such an honest doctor, and did warn me that surgery would be anywhere from $10,000 to $20,000. He did add, that if I don’t get it done, it could continue to always give out on me and could cause serious arthritis, and even get worse as the years go by. So, I told him plainly, that I’ll go ahead with the surgery. Yikes!

I’m nervous and anxious more than anything. I’m eighteen years old, and have never had surgery ONCE in my entire life. Plus, I don’t know what to expect… that’s what scares me the most. Hopefully, everything will work itself out. Thanks for all of the support that I’ve been receiving.

Leave a comment